Awaiting good times

Hey everyone!~

Summer is meant to be a time of vacation, sunny days and long hours of road tripping. Unfortunately, Summer blues have hit me and it has led me to be quite stagnant. I haven’t done much besides strengthening myself doing resistance exercises and running.

Where I run every other day!

My summer is a ticking away fast and I can’t wait until it is over, as weird as it sounds! Everything seems to happen towards the end of summer- August to be precise! It is in August where I would be able to attend a dance intensive in Dublin. (The Dance Institute).

As I am not a life-long dancer and late- starter this intensive will be catered towards my level. Besides ballet, we will be doing modern and contemporary, jazz, Tap (which I am looking forward to), pilates, Street and Ballroom. I honestly have no experience in any of these dances however I am looking forward to dancing ballet, which I will be doing every day alongside jazz. It will be an amazing experience I cannot wait! At the same time, I don’t want to have extremely high expectations as it might not be what I expect. In all honesty, I am a bit apprehensive as I am already 17 and I feel like many of the dancers will be young dancers. Thankfully, as I am of Asian descent, I look younger than I really am. For once I am grateful to be seen as more youthful! 😉 Many people seem to assume I am fifteen or younger than my real age and now I can honestly say this will definitely help me in the ballet world.

It is also at this month that I will be getting my Leaving Cert results (click here to read about the Leaving Cert). Last month, in June I sat my leaving cert exams which will determine whether I get into the University of my choice. I think it would be equivalent to the A Levels in the UK and SATS in America. Basically, it takes your grades and adds them up in points which determine your place in Uni. Coincidentally, the day I get my results will be the same time I will be attending my summer intensive.

I am planning on pursuing Physiotherapy as my major which will be a full-time 4-year course in RCSI (Royal College of Surgeons). At the same time, I want to develop my love for dancing, which will be quite difficult in consideration of my choice of major. However, I am very optimistic about the future, my ballet teacher; Ms. S. is setting a provisional timetable where we would have three classes a week on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays.

Right now I am enjoying the fabulous weather in Ireland today.

 

 

Jpeg
the weather outside today! My window view.

Hope you guys have a lovely week! Let me know how you feel about your dance journey. I would love to know. 🙂

 

Much Love- 

May- xxx 

 

large (32)
love this picture, describes life perfectly, we are all free falling into our passions.

 

2 thoughts on “Awaiting good times

  1. Nice to meet you! It sounds like you have a great opportunity ahead of you, enjoy your intensive!!
    I’m also a dancer. I started really late at 17, but have been part of a lot of different intensives, dance shows, and even a second company. Don’t worry about being older – really good teachers won’t mind and will see your potential anyway. (And yes, looking younger does help. People still think I’m a teenager and I’m almost 24.)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Nice to meet you too! Thank you KathrinS, your comment is really reassuring. It’s nice to get the perspective of another dancer who started out late. Wow, you have amazing experiences and the second company is a dream of mine. You are an inspiration! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

